The month of June as we all know is the start of the school year here in the Philippines. However I was not able to enroll my son earlier to our homeschool provider due to financial matters. So now while waiting for our materials from School of Tomorrow, I decided to teach my son subjects that he is not so good at. We had challenges at first because when he was still in school, he has this belief that Math is the hardest thing in the world. He used to cry whenever he has a lot of Math homework.

To my surprise, he said the words that I have been waiting for, for the longest time. He said “Mommy, I still think that Math is hard but I am starting to like it. I understand it now with the way you explain it, it seems very easy. I also understand now why it is important in our life, not only in school. Thank you Mommy for homeschooling me this year, I think once I understand these lessons I can really be a scientist someday.” He still kept on talking about his dreams, well he is very talkative and very vocal about his feelings.

As a mom, this simple thing is very important for me, because by this I can assure myself that I am doing the right thing for my son. So for all the parents out there, do not be scared to support your kids on their dreams. Remember that people excel on the things that interest them. What more if the people they love gives them the support that they need, then I think nothing will be impossible for them. We only live once, so why not live life to the fullest 🙂

